Skip to main content

School of Nursing

School of Nursing > Academics > Certificate Programs > Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate

Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate

Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate - 16 credit hours

The Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate develops the knowledge and skills required for advanced practice nurses to provide primary health care to clients and families across the lifespan. Family Nurse Practitioners provide comprehensive health promotion services to ambulatory clients; evaluate presenting problems at the client's initial contact with the primary care system; and continuing care to clients with acute and chronic illnesses.

Clinical practice sites are generally located in the Kansas City metropolitan area, but may extend across the state of Kansas and other communiities where students are located. A variety of practice settings are utilized: primary care or internal medicine clinics; occupational health clinics; home based care; rural health clinics; and other child, adolescent, adult and geriatric sites.

Required didactic courses are offered online. Practicum courses NRSG 916, NRSG 917 and NRSG 918 require visits to the KU Medical Center campus 3 times each semester for Clinical Intensive Workshops and Standardized Patient exams.

The Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate program requires that students have completed an advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) graduate educational program from a nationally accredited school of nursing. Three separate, comprehensive graduate-level courses in advanced pathophysiology, advanced assessment, and advanced pharmacology are required.

The annual application deadline is June 1 for the FALL semester.

Fall            NRSG 914 Primary Care I: Family Health  3
Fall NRSG 916 Primary Care Practicum I: Family NP (256 clinical hours)        4
Spring NRSG 915 Primary Care II: Family Health 3
Spring NRSG 917 Primary Care Practicum II: Family NP (256 clinical hours) 4
Summer NRSG 918 Primary Care Practicum III (128 clinical hours) 2
16 credit hours; 640 clinical hours

Nursing Licensure

This program prepares nurses who have completed an advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) graduate education program from a nationally accredited school of nursing for an additional advanced practice specialty certification. APRN eligibility differs across states and many require a specialty certification. Specialty certifications are acquired through national exams that do not vary by state. For information on individual state's requirements go to the National Councils of State Boards of Nursing website.

As of July 1, 2020, the U.S. Department of Education implemented Regulation 34 CFR 668.43 (a) (5) (v) that requires professional nursing programs to provide information on how their curriculum meets education requirements for professional licensing in each state. You may review KU School of Nursing's information on licensure by state.

Last modified: Nov 16, 2020