Skip to main content

KU School of Nursing Faculty Awards & Recognition

Daisy Award

The DAISY Award was founded by Mark and Bonnie Barnes, in memory of their son Patrick who died of ITP, after a long illness. This award originated in the clinical setting, with the intent to recognize excellence in nursing care and practice. Their intent was to ‘give back' to the nursing field because of the fine care Patrick received. In 2010, the Daisy Foundation expanded the award to include nursing faculty.

2019      Kathy Guilkey, MSN, RN and Cara Busenhart, Ph.D., CNM, APRN, FACNM and Ruth Penny, RN, BSN, CNRN
2018      Jessica Gay, MSN, RND and Quihua Shen, Ph.D., APRN, RN
2017      Elizabeth Young, MSN, RN, CNE and Carol Buller, DNP, APRN, FNP-C, GNP-C
2016      Heather Nelson-Brantley, Ph. D., RN, CCRN-K

Karen L. Miller Visionary Award

The Karen L Miller (KLM) Visionary Leadership Award provides an award to a qualified School of Nursing faculty member who demonstrates visionary, innovative leadership related to teaching, research or practice that could include but is not limited to an interprofessional focus. This award is in recognition of the innovative, vision and leadership provided by Dean Karen L. Miller during her tenure as Dean of the School of Nursing.

2019      Sharon Kumm, MN, RN, CNE
2018      Breah Chambers, DNP, APRN, FNP-C
2017      Jerrihlyn L. McGee, DNP, RN, CNE
2016      David Martin, MN, RN

MacArthur Research Grant Award 

The MacArthur Award provides funding to a nurse researcher who is leading or co-leading an interdisciplinary or interprofessional team at the University of Kansas Medical Center.

2018      Shin Hye Park, PhD, RN
2017      Jill Peltzer, PhD, APRN-CNS

Phyllis Keeney Lawrence Award

Phyllis Keeney Lawrence was a 1990 graduate in the KU School of Nursing. Upon her death, her family established this award in her name to honor an outstanding faculty member in the School of Nursing. The award recognizes a faculty member who demonstrates a superior record of teaching performance, makes significant contribution to curriculum development, and utilizes innovative approaches in teaching.

2019      Elizabeth Young, MSN, RN, CNE
2018      Nancy Barr, MS, RN
2017      Chito Belchez, MSN, RN-BC
2016      Kelli Kramer-Jackman, PhD, APRN, FNP, BC

Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Award

This award is intended to recognize and reward demonstrated teaching ability of a clearly superlative nature. The award will be given to paid (non-volunteer) faculty who contribute to the University and its students through excellence and outstanding classroom teaching. Classroom teaching is defined it its broadest sense to include educational activities in various settings and to a variety of learners in the three schools and the graduate and undergraduate programs at the medical center.

2018      Jill Peltzer, PhD, APRN-CNS

Chancellor's Club Teaching Professorships

This award recognizes sustained excellence in teaching and are awarded only to persons who have demonstrated outstanding teaching competence over an extended period of years.

2017      Karen Wambach, PhD, RN, IBCLC, FILCA, FAAN

Glendon G. Cox Leadership Award

The Glendon G. Cox Leadership Award honors a member of our academic medical community as a leader and recognizes contributions made in an extraordinary fashion and at a consistently high level over a span of many years. This award is faculty-initiated and recognizes our colleagues who have shown sustained leadership and excellence in their service to the University of Kansas.

2018 Cynthia Teel, PhD, RN, FAAN

Nursing Alumni

The KUMC Alumni Association annually presents the Distinguished, Honorary and Early Career Achievement Awards during Alumni Reunion Weekend to a deserving alumnus of each school. These are the highest honors the KUMC Alumni Association bestows upon graduates of the KU Schools of Health Professions, Medicine and Nursing and those who have made outstanding contributions to the health care professions.

2018      Early Career Achievement in Nursing Alumna, Cara A. Busenhart, PhD'14, CNM
              Honorary Nursing Alumna, Noreen C. Thompson, APRN, PMHCNS-BC
              Distinguished Nursing Alumna, Moya Peterson, PhD'06, APRN, FNP-BC
              Previous years recipient can be found here

Last modified: Apr 14, 2021